Kadapa district is said to be the heart of the Rayalaseema as it is centrally located and well connected with the four districts of Rayalaseema.The old records of the district reveal that Kadapa previously called Gadapa which means in Telugu language threshold. The ancient village of Kadapa with its large tank and temple of Lord Venkateswara at Devuni Kadapa was convenient camping place for the pilgrims traveling to the holy shrine of Tirupathi.   

Geographical data:

Kadapa district covered by many undulations between 259' and 3787' from the mean sea level. The district lies between 79 29" and 79 55" eastren and 30 43" and 15  14" northern latitudes.

  • Total area             : 15359 sq.KM

  • % of Area in the state  : 5.58%

  • No of Municipal Corporations : 01 (Kadapa)

  • No of Municipalities : 06

  • No of inhabitated Villages : 887

  • No of un inhabitated villages : 71

  • No of Revenue divisions   :  03

  • No of Mandals : 50

  • No of Revenue Villages  : 958

  • No of Hamlets      :    3706


     The Boundaries of Kadapa district are as follows.

  • East       :  Nellore district

  • West      :  Anantapur district

  • South     :  Chittoor district

  • North      :  Kurnool and Prakasam districts


Penna, Chitravathi, Kundu, Papaghni, Sagileru, Mandvya, Gunjaneru and Cheyyeru.

Main Towns:

 Kadapa, Proddatur, Rajampet, Mydukur, Jammalamadugu, Pulivendula, Rayachoti.

Tourist spots:

Nandaluru, Masjid-E-Azam, Vempalli, Jammalamadugu, Gandikota fort and Chand Phira Gumbadh,

Pilgrimage Centers:

      Tallapaka, Pushpagiri, Siddhavatam, Vontimetta, Jyoti Jammalamadugu, and Proddatur temples Pothuloori Veerabramendra Swamy Mutt at KandhimallayaPalli, Devuni Kadapa, Alladupalli, Gandi.


 Kadapa is well connected by road and rail with other parts of the state.




Copy Right 2006 Param Technologies, All Rights Reserved.